

## PERSONNEL AND ADMINISTRATIVE REFORMS SECRETARIAT

## **NOTIFICATION**

# No. DPAR 02 CHURASA 2020, Bengaluru, Dated: 02<sup>nd</sup> June, 2020.

The following Presidential Notification under Section 12 of the Representation of the People Act, 1951 (43 of 1951), issued in F.No.H.11024/1/2020-Leg.II, dated 02-06-2020; Notification No. 318/CS-Multi/2/2020(1), dated 02-06-2020 and No. 318/CS-Multi/2/2020(2), dated 02-06-2020 of the Election Commission of India are published hereunder for general information:-

Government of India Ministry of Law and Justice (Legislative Department)

\*\*\*\*

New Delhi, the 02nd June 2020 Jyaishtha 12, 1942 (Saka)

#### Notification

S.O.....(E), -In pursuance of section 12 of the Representation of the People Act, 1951 (43 of 1951), the President is pleased to call upon the elected members of the Legislative Assembly of each State specified in column (2) of the table below, to elect, in accordance with the provisions of the said Act and of the rules and orders made thereunder, the number of members specified against each State in column (3) of the said table, for the purpose of filling the seats of members of the Council of States whose term of office is due to expire on the date mentioned in the corresponding entry in column (4) of the said table, on the expiration of their term of office:-

S.No	Name of State	No. of seats to be filled	Date of retirement
(1)	(2)	(3)	(4)
1	Arunachal Pradesh	01	23.06.2020
2	Karnataka	04	25.06.2020
3	Mizoram	01	18.07.2020

[F.No.H.11024/1/2020-Leg.II]

(Dr. Reeta Vasishta) Additional Secretary to Government of India

# **ELECTION COMMISSION OF INDIA**

Nirvachan Sadan, Ashoka Road, New Delhi - 110001

# Dated: 02<sup>nd</sup> June, 2020 Jyaistha 12, 1942 (Saka)

### NOTIFICATION

No. 318/CS-Multi/2/2020(1): - Whereas, the President of India has, by notification issued under Section 12 of the Representation of the People Act, 1951(43 of 1951) and published in the Gazette of India on  $02^{nd}$  June, 2020 been pleased to call upon the elected members of each of the Legislative Assemblies of the States, specified in column (1) of the TABLE below, to elect to the Council of States, the number of member(s) specified against that State in column (2) of the said TABLE:

Sl. No.	Name of State	No. of members retiring
	(1)	(2)
1)	Arunachal Pradesh	01
2)	Karnataka	04
3)	Mizoram	01

#### TABLE

Now, therefore, in pursuance of sub-section (1) of section 39 and section 56 of the said Act, the Election Commission of India hereby-

(A) **appoints,** with respect to the said election;

- (a) the 09<sup>th</sup> June, 2020 (Tuesday), as the last date for making nominations;
- (b) the 10<sup>th</sup> June, 2020 (Wednesday), as the date for the scrutiny of the nominations;
- (c) the 12<sup>th</sup> June, 2020 (Friday), as the last date for the withdrawal of candidatures;
- (d) the 19<sup>th</sup> June, 2020 (Friday), as the date on which a poll shall, if necessary, be taken; and
- (e) the 22<sup>nd</sup> June, 2020 (Monday), as the date before which the election shall be completed; and

(B) fixes the hours from 09:00 am to 04:00 pm, as the hours during which the poll shall, if necessary, be taken in all the above mentioned States on the date specified above for the election.

By order,

(MADHUSUDAN GUPTA) Secretary to the Election Commission of India

### ೩

# **ELECTION COMMISSION OF INDIA**

Nirvachan Sadan, Ashoka Road, New Delhi - 110001

Dated: 02<sup>nd</sup> June, 2020 Jyaishtha 12, 1942 (Saka)

## **NOTIFICATION**

No. 318/CS-Multi/2/2020(2): - In pursuance of Section 21, and in exercise of the powers conferred by sub-section (1) of Section 22, of the Representation of the People Act, 1951 (43 of 1951), the Election Commission of India, in consultation with the Government of each of the States, specified in the column (1) of the TABLE below, hereby-

- designates the officer, specified in the corresponding entry in column (2) of the said TABLE to be the Returning Officer; and
- (ii) appoints the officer(s), specified in the corresponding entry in column (3) of the said Table,
  to be the Assistant Returning Officer(s) to assist the Returning Officer in the performance of
  his functions;

in respect of the biennial election to the Council of States, to be held in that State in pursuance of the notification of the President of India, published in the Gazette of India on  $02^{nd}$  June, 2020: -

States	Returning Officer	Assistant Returning Officer
(1)	(2)	(3)
Arunachal Pradesh	K. Habung, Secretary, Legislative Assembly	Agaab Mossang, Joint Secretary
Karnataka	M. K. Vishalakshi, Secretary (I/c), Karnataka Legislative Assembly	V. Mohan Murthy, Deputy Secretary (I/c), Karnataka Legislative Assembly
Mizoram	H. Lalrinawma, Commissioner & Secretary	Lalhmahruaia Zote, Additional Secretary

TABLE

By order,

(MADHUSUDAN GUPTA) Secretary to the Election Commission of India.

(K.M. PRANESH) Assistant Chief Electoral Officer & Ex-Officio Under Secretary to Government(I/c), D.P.A.R (Elections).