NOTE FOR PRESS MEET: 10-11-2019 (Sunday)

1. The Election Commission has vide its Press note No.ECI / PN / 84 /2019 dated 21St September 2019 announced the schedule for **bye-elections** to the following Constituencies -

Sl. No	No. and Name of the Assembly				
	Constituency				
1	03- Athani				
2	04- Kagwad				
3	09- Gokak				
4	81 - Yellapura				
5	86- Hirekerur				
6	87- Ranibennur				
7	90 - Vijaynagara				
8	141 - Chickballapura				
9	151- K R Pura				
10	153 - Yeshwanthpura				
11	156 - Mahalakshmi Layout				
12	162 - Shivajinagara				
13	178 - Hosakote				
14	192 – K. R. Pete				
15	212 - Hunsur				

THE AMENDED SCHEDULE FOR THE BYE ELECTIONS ARE AS UNDER ---

Poll Events	Schedule
Date of Issue of Gazette Notification	27-09-2019 (FRIDAY)
Restarting Date of Making Nominations	11-11-2019 (MONDAY)
Last Date of Nominations	18-11-2019 (MONDAY)
Date of Scrutiny of Nominations	19-11-2019 (TUESDAY)
Last Date for Withdrawal of Candidatures	21-11-2019 (THURSDAY)
Date of Poll	05-12-2019 (THURSDAY)
Date of Counting of Votes	09-12-2019 (THURSDAY)
Date before which Election Shall be Completed	11-12-2019 (MONDAY)

2. Model Code of Conduct-

The Model code of conduct shall come into force from 11-11-2019 (Monday) in the district(s) in which the whole or any part of the Assembly constituency going for election is included, subject to partial modification as issued vide Commission's instruction No. 437/6/INST/2016-CCS, dated 29th June, 2017, 18-01-2018 and Letter No. 100/KT-LA/2019, dated: 01-10-2019 (available on the commission's website). The Model code of conduct shall be applicable to all candidates, political parties and the state Government concerned. The Model code of conduct shall also be applicable to the Union Government for the district of the State concerned.

3. Identification of Voters-

In consonance with the past practice, the Commission has decided that the voter's identification shall be mandatory in the aforementioned election at the time of poll' Electoral Photo Identity cards (EPIC) shall be the main document of identification of a voter. However, in order to ensure that no voter is deprived of his/her franchise, if his/her name figures in the electoral rolls, separate instructions will be issued to allow additional documents for identification of voters at the time of poll in the said election.

4. Electors as on (09.11.2019)

Sl.No	District	AC	Male	Female	Others	Total	18-19 years of age
1	Belagavi	03- Athani	112120	105743	2	217865	5228
		04- Kagwad	95954	89884	2	185840	3928
		09- Gokak	119830	122254	13	242097	4909
2	Haveri	86- Hirekerur	94234	88533	4	182771	4427
		87- Ranibennur	118505	114320	13	232838	5472
9	Ballari	90 - Vijaynagara	115721	120431	62	236214	5520
4	Uttara Kannada	81 - Yellapura	87843	84555	1	172399	4498
5	Banglore Urban	153 - Yeshwanthpura	246295	229424	40	475759	6814
6	BBMP North	151- K R Pura	251919	229123	160	481202	5827
		156 - Mahalakshmi Layout	146134	137136	42	283312	3172
7	Mandya	192 - K R Pete	106088	102847	5	208940	3813
8	Mysuru	212 - Hunsur	114146	112769	4	226919	4670
9	Chickballapura	141 - Chickballapura	99203	100152	22	199377	5620
10	Bangalore Rural	178 - Hosakote	107869	105514	28	213411	5599
11	BBMP Central	162 - Shivajinagara	96930	94690	1	191621	2116
Total 1912791 1837375 399 3750565 7167						71613	

5. BYE- ELECTIONS:

In respect of the Constituencies covered by the bye elections, continuous updation of the Lok Sabha Electoral rolls 2019 will be taken up with reference to 01.01.2019 as eligibility date, upto the last date of filing nominations.

6. Polling Stations:

The polling stations available in the constituencies where bye elections are to be held is as follows—

Sl. No	No. and Name of the Assembly	No. of Polling	Remarks
	Constituency	Stations	
1	178-Hoskote	286	
2	153-Yeshwanthpura	461	
3	162-Shivajinagar	193	
4	9-Gokak	288	
5	3-Athani	260	
6	4-Kagwad	231	
7	90-Vijayanagara	247	Assured Minimum
8	86-Hirekerur	229	Facilities are available in
9	87-Ranibennur	266	all the Polling Stations
10	81-Yellapura	231	
11	151-K.R. Pura	437	
12	156-Mahalakshmilayout	270	
13	141-Chikkaballapura	254	
14	212-Hunsur	274	
15	192-K.R. Pet	258	
	Total PS	4185	

7. REQUIREMENT OF MACHINES FOR THE Bye-Elections - For 15 ACs

			Total	Required Units			
SI. NO	District	Name of the AC	PS	BU (200%)	CU (200%)	VVPAT (200%)	
	Belagavi	3- Athani	260	520	520	520	
1		4- Kagwad	231	462	462	462	
		9-Gokak	288	576	576	576	
2	Haveri	86- Hirekerur	229	458	458	458	
2	Haveri	87 - Ranibennur	266	532	532	532	
3	Ballari	90 - Vijayanagar	247	494	494	494	
4	Uttar Kannada	81 - Yellapur	231	462	462	462	
5	Bangalore Urban	153 - Yeshwanthpur	461	922	922	922	
6	BBMP North	151 - K R Puram	437	874	874	874	
		156 - Mahalakshmi Layout	270	540	540	540	
7	Mandya	192 - K R Pet	258	516	516	516	
8	Mysuru	212 - Hunsur	274	548	548	548	
9	Chickballapur	141 - Chickballapur	254	508	508	508	
10	Bangalore Rural	178 - Hosakote	286	572	572	572	
11	BBMP Central	162 - Shivajinagar	193	386	386	386	
	Total			8370	8370	8370	

Only M3 EVM and VVPAT Machines will be used for the above Bye- Elections. Sufficient Machines are available in the District and First Level checking is completed in all districts.

8. POLL PERSONNEL REQUIRED for Bye-Elections:

Sl. No	No. and Name of the Assembly Constituency	No. of Polling Stations	No. of Polling Personnel Required (1- PRO+3-Pos)	10% Reserve	Total Requirement
1	178-Hoskote	286	1144	114	1544
2	153-Yeshwanthpura	461	1844	184	2489
3	162-Shivajinagar	193	772	77	1042
4	9-Gokak	288	1152	115	1555
5	3-Athani	260	1040	104	1404
6	4-Kagwad	231	924	92	1247
7	90-Vijayanagara	247	988	99	1334
8	86-Hirekerur	229	916	92	1237
9	87-Ranibennur	266	106	106	1436
10	81-Yellapura	231	924	92	1247
11	151-K.R. Pura	437	1748	175	2360
12	156- Mahalakshmilayout	270	1080	108	1458
13	141-Chikkaballapura	254	1016	102	1372
14	212-Hunsur	274	1096	110	1480
15	192-K.R. Pet	258	1032	103	1393
	Total	4185	15782	1673	22598

9. Standard Rate Card of News papers / TV / Radio / Channels etc:

During the recently held Lok Sabha Elections, rate cards have been prepared and put to use. The General elections were held during April 2019 and the same rates will be adopted for the bye elections also for the purpose of MCC and Expenditure Monitoring.

10. Complaint management:

The call centers and control room facility will be strengthened and their numbers will be publicized shortly at State level. Toll free 1950 is activated.

11. Training:

The General Elections were held very recently and all the officers involved at various levels have already been trained in election management. However, one more level of training will be organized for them. Cascaded training will also be organized for officers at all levels in duecourse.

12. Help Desk:

As of now help desk isavailable in the ERO offices to handle the roll related issues.

Instructions have been issued to set up help desk even in RO Offices.

13. REQUEST TO POLITICAL PARTIES:

- Give wide publicity to the schedule to the people.
- Political parties are requested to appoint BLAs and to actively participate in the roll updation process.
- Electors from these constituencies are called upon to check their names and to ensure that their names are at only one place.