ELECTION COMMISSION OF INDIA

Nirvachan Sadan, Ashoka Road, New Delhi-110001

No. ECI/PN/26/2014

PRESS NOTE

Subject: Biennial elections to the State Legislative Councils of Karnataka and Maharashtra from Graduates' and Teachers' Constituencies.

The terms of office of 9 members of the State Legislative Councils of Karnataka and Maharashtra from Graduates' and Teachers' Constituencies is going to expire on 30th June, and 19th July, 2014 respectively due to the retirement of the sitting members. A statement showing the details of the abovementioned seats is given in **Appendix `A`**.

2. Therefore, for the purpose of filling up the aforementioned seats, the Election Commission has decided to hold biennial elections to the State Legislative Councils of Karnataka and Maharashtra from Graduates' and Teachers' Constituencies, in accordance with the following programme:-

1.	Issue of Notification	:	27th May, 2014 (Tuesday)
2.	Last date of making nominations	:	3 rd June, 2014 (Tuesday)
3.	Scrutiny of nominations	:	4th June, 2014 (Wednesday)
4.	Last date for withdrawal of candidature	:	6 th June, 2014 (Friday)
5.	Date of Poll	:	20th June, 2014 (Friday)
6.	Hours of Poll		8:00 A.M. to 4:00 P.M.
7.	Counting of votes	:	24 th June, 2014 (Tuesday) at 8:00 A.M
8.	Date before which election shall be completed	:	28th June, 2014 (Saturday)

3. The Model Code of Conduct as applicable to Elections to Graduates' & Teachers' Constituencies will come into force with immediate effect in the district(s) within which the above Constituencies are comprised. In addition, the provisions of Model Code of Conduct and ECI instructions applicable to Legislative Assembly Elections, with regard to defacement of public & private properties, shall also be applicable. Detailed combined instructions with regard to applicable provisions of Model Code of Conduct for these elections have been separately issued.

(DHIRENDER OJHA) DIRECTOR

Dated: 20th May, 2014

Appendix - A

Karnataka Legislative Council

S. No.	Name of the Member	Name of Constituency	Date of
			Retirement

Graduates Constituencies:-

1.	Dr. A. H. Shivayogi Swamy	Karnataka South-East Graduates'	30.06.2014
2.	Sri. Mohan A, Limbikai (vacant due to	Karnataka West Graduates'	30.06.2014
	resignation)		

Teachers' Constituencies:-

1.	Sri Shashil G. Namoshi (vacant due to	Karnataka North-East Teachers'	30.06.2014
	resignation)		
2.	Sri Puttanna	Bangalore Teachers'	30.06.2014

Maharashtra Legislative Council

Graduates Constituencies:-

Ī	1.	Sh. Chavan Satish Bhanudasrao	Aurangabad Division Graduates'	19.07.2014
	2.	Sh. Chandrakant (Dada) Bachhu Patil	Pune Division Graduates'	19.07.2014
	3.	Sh. Gadkari Nitin Jairam	Nagpur Division Graduates'	19.07.2014

Teachers' Constituencies:-

	1.	Sh. Khotre Vasantrao Dadarao	Amravati Division Teachers'	19.07.2014
Ī	2.	Sh. Bhagwan Anandrao Salunke	Pune Division Teachers'	19.07.2014