

भारत निर्वाचन आयोग Election Commission of India

निर्वाचन सदन NIRVACHAN SADAN अशोक रोड, नई दिल्ली -110001 ASHOKA ROAD, NEW DELHI-110001

No. ECI/PN/61/2022

Dated: 18th July, 2022

PRESS NOTE

Sub:-Bye Election to the Karnataka Legislative Council by the members of Legislative Assembly (MLAs) – reg.

There is one casual vacancy in the Karnataka Legislative Council by the members of Legislative Assembly. The details of the vacancy are as follows:

Name of Member	Nature of election	Cause of vacancy	Term up to
Sri C.M. Ibrahim	By MLAs	Resignation on 31st March, 2022	17 th June, 2024

2. The Commission has decided to hold a bye-election to the Karnataka Legislative Council by the members of the Legislative Assembly to fill the above mentioned vacancy as per the following schedule:

S. No.	Events	Dates	
1.	Issue of Notification	25 th July, 2022 (Monday)	
2.	Last Date of making nominations	01st August, 2022 (Monday)	
3.	Scrutiny of nominations	02 nd August, 2022 (Tuesday)	
4.	Last date for withdrawal of	04th August, 2022 (Thursday)	
	candidatures		
5.	Date of Poll	11 th August, 2022 (Thursday)	
6.	Hours of Poll	09:00 am- 04:00 pm	
7.	Counting of Votes	11th August, 2022 (Thursday) at 05:00 pm	
8.	Date before which election shall be	16 th August, 2022 (Tuesday)	
	completed		

- 3. Broad Guidelines of Covid-19 issued by ECI as contained in para 06 of Press Note, dated 25th May, 2022, available at link https://eci.gov.in/files/file/14188-schedule-for-bye-election-in-parliamentaryassembly-constituencies-of-various-states/ to be followed, wherever applicable, during entire election process by all persons.
- 4. The Chief Secretary, Karnataka is being directed to depute a senior officer from the State to ensure that the extant instructions regarding COVID-19 containment measures are complied with while making arrangements for conducting the election.

(PRAFULL AWASTHI) UNDER SECRETARY