



OFFICE OF THE CHIEF ELECTORAL OFFICER, KARNATAKA

Nirvachana Nilaya, Sheshadri Road, Bengaluru-560 001. Telephone 080-22224212



Date: 19.04.2024

No. DPAR 07 CHULOSA (MC) 2024

GENERAL ELECTIONS TO LOK SABHA 2024 and Bye election to 36-Shorapura Legislative Assembly Constituency 2024 PRESS NOTE

1. Phase 3 Nominations of 14 Parliamentary Constituencies:

Details of candidates filed nominations on 19.04.2024 and since 12.04.2024

Parliament]	of Nom Receive 19.04.2	ed on	ons	Re	of Nome eceived 12.04.2	Candidates (19.04.2024)				Candidates (since 12.04.2024)					
Constituency	Total	Male	Female	Others	Total	Male	Female	Others	Male	Female	Others	TOTAL	Male	Female	Others	TOTAL
Chikkodi	8	8	0	0	27	23	4	0	8	0	0	8	19	1	0	20
Belgaum	6	5	1	0	30	29	1	0	5	1	0	6	20	1	0	21
Bagalkot	10	8	2	0	35	30	5	0	8	1	0	9	24	2	0	26
Bijapur (SC)	10	8	2	0	35	31	4	0	7	2	0	9	18	3	0	21
Gulbarga (SC)	12	11	1	0	36	32	4	0	10	1	0	11	21	2	0	23
Raichur (ST)	7	6	1	0	21	20	1	0	5	1	0	6	11	1	0	12
Bidar	13	13	0	0	41	40	1	0	13	0	0	13	33	1	0	34
Koppal	10	9	1	0	40	38	2	0	9	1	0	10	25	2	0	27
Bellary (ST)	3	3	0	0	19	17	2	0	3	0	0	3	10	1	0	11
Haveri	19	17	2	0	47	41	6	0	15	2	0	17	24	3	0	27
Dharwad	12	10	2	0	44	41	3	0	10	1	0	11	27	2	0	29
Uttara Kannada	7	6	1	0	36	32	4	0	5	1	0	6	17	2	0	19
Davanagere	20	16	4	0	54	43	11	0	12	2	0	14	35	5	0	40
Shimoga	14	12	2	0	38	33	5	0	12	2	0	14	25	2	0	27
Phase III Total	151	132	19	0	503	450	53	0	122	15	0	137	309	28	0	337

Phase 3 - Consolidated party wise nomination received since 12.04.2024 & number of candidates given in **Annexure**.

2. Nominations for 36-Shorapura Legislative Assembly Constituency:

			CANDI	DATES		NOMINATIONS							
Party	Du	ring the	day	Т	ill this da	ıy	Du	ring the	day	Till this day			
	Male	Female	Total	Male	Female	Total	Male	Female	Total	Male	Female	Total	
Bharatiya Janata Party	0	0	0	1	0	1	0	0	0	4	0	4	
Indian National Congress	0	0	0	1	0	1	2	0	2	4	0	4	
Samajawadi Janata Party	1	0	1	1	0	1	1	0	1	1	0	1	
Independent	3	0	3	4	0	4	3	0	3	4	0	4	
Total	4	0	4	7	0	7	6	0	6	13	0	13	

3. Home Voting of Absentee Voters:

35,131 (95.75%) voters in the age group of 85+ have casted their votes at their homes out of **36,689** voters approved for home voting. Similarly, **11,679 (97.98%)** PwD voters have casted their votes at their home out of **11,920** voters approved for home voting on 13.04.2024. In total **46,810 (96.30%)** voters have cast their votes out of **48,609** voters approved.

4. Election Expenditure Monitoring: Seizures:

0.31

131.53

Value Rs. in Crore Police, FST & Commercial **Grand Total Excise Income Tax** SST Taxes Progressive Progressive Progressive Progressive Progressive Previous day Previous day Previous day Previous Previous Items of seizure day Cash 0.22 62.11 12.75 0.22 74.85 Value Qty (in 0.0024 0.16 0.13 146.29 0.13 146.46 lakhs ltrs) Liquor 0.72 176.58 0.01 175.86 0.70 0.69 Value Qty (KGs) 10.32 435.09 1.12 71.74 11.44 506.83 Drugs Value 0.03 10.38 0.00 0.28 0.03 10.66 70.36 1.62 36.31 108.29 Otv (KGs) Gold 43.09 0.96 13.51 57.56 Value 301.54 Precious Qty (KGs) 293.95 7.59 Silver Metal Value 1.11 0.06 1.17 4.23 4.23 Qty (grams) Dimond 0.09 0.09 Value **Freebies** Value 0.00 2.18 5.95 0.00 8.13 Others 0.00 0.03 Value 0.06 11.94 60.31 0.06 72.27

5. Cases Booked:

TOTAL VALUE

a) Flying Squads, SSTs and Police authorities have booked **1,907** FIRs with regard to seizures of cash, liquor, drugs, precious metal and Freebies.

176.16

0.69

79.83

1.00

401.32

13.80

b) Excise Department has booked **2,605** Heinous Cases, **3,740** cases for Breach of Licence Conditions, **141** NDPS and **21,093** cases under Section 15 (a) of Karnataka Excise act 1965 and also **1,630** different types of Vehicles have been seized.

6. Special Reports:

Excise department has seized **1,200 case boxes (10,369.8 ltrs IML)** worth **Rs. 61,06,917** in KSBCL Depot, Sy No.16, Soraba Road, Mankoda Village, Sagara Taluk, Shimoga Parliamentary Constituency, Shivamogga District.

7. Public Grievance Redressal:

Out of the **23,120** calls received through Voter Helpline, **22903** people have sought information, **30** have given feedback, **26** have made suggestions and **161** have registered complaints. Cumulatively **23120** calls have been disposed off. In addition, **14209** complaints have been registered by the citizens on NGRS portal, out of which, **13776** complaints have been disposed off.

8. cVIGIL:

25,425 Complaints have been received through cVIGIL application. Major complaints received are related to Posters/Banners without permission **15,038**, Posters without mandatory declaration **1,104**, property defacement **322**, Money Distribution **178**, Distribution of gifts/coupons **127**, Campaigning during ban period **51**, Distribution of Liquor **140**, Vehicle or convoy without permission **88**, Religious or communal

speeches/messages **57**, Display of Firearms, Intimidation **36** out of which **23,989** Complaints are found to be correct and action has been taken.

9. Media:

The complaints have been received through emails **225**, and letters **637**, Newspapers **32**, TV Channels **38** and Social Media **62** Out of the total **994** Complaints, **994** have been disposed off.

10. ENCORE:

Under ENCORE, **7,165** Applications for permissions have been received; out of which **5,483** have been accepted and **1,049** have been rejected. **27** are in progress, **318** are pending and **288** are cancelled.

11. FIRs booked:

- a. BJP has posted message in their X account @BJP4Karnataka which is allegedly amounting to create divisions and hatredness based on religion, communities / language, caste, class, etc, A complaint is lodged at Malleshwaram Police Station within the Gandhinagar Assembly Constituency, Bengaluru on 19.04.2024 against BJP State President Sri. B.Y. Vijayendra and the administrators of @BJP4Karnataka X Twitter account by the FST team Gandhinagara Assembly Constituency under Section 125 of RP Act 1951 and under section 505 & 153A of IPC 1860.
- b. In the in Rajarajeshwari Assembly Constituency of Bangalore Rural Lok Sabha constituency, the water supply issue for residents of the multistoreyed building complex (comprising 500 dwelling units) during a promotional event led to allegations of violation of model code of conduct by **Deputy Chief Minister Sri. D.K. Shivakumar**. Following this, an FIR was lodged against Deputy Chief Minister Sri. D.K. Shivakumar by FST Team of Rajarajeshwari Assembly Constituency under sections 171(B), 171(C), 171(E), and 171(F) of IPC 1860.

Annexure

Parliamentary Constituency	No.	of Nom Recei		ons			De	tails	of No	mina	tions	NOTE: If one candidate files 1 or more nomination the candidate count must be considered as one.						
	ľ		Rec		sed N e Pai	ation	nal/		d sed ties	nt		Candidates						
	Total	Male	Female	Others	влР	INC	AAP	BSP	CPIM	NPP	JDS	Registered Un Recognised Political Parties	Independent	Total	Male	Female	Others	TOTAL
Chikkodi	27	23	4	0	2	4	0	0	0	0	0	6	15	27	19	1	0	20
Belgaum	30	29	1	0	4	4	0	1	0	0	0	5	16	30	20	1	0	21
Bagalkot	35	30	5	0	2	4	0	1	0	0	0	10	18	35	24	2	0	26
Bijapur (SC)	35	31	4	0	6	4	0	5	0	0	1	15	4	35	18	3	0	21
Gulbarga (SC)	36	32	4	0	4	4	0	1	0	0	0	14	13	36	21	2	0	23
Raichur (ST)	21	20	1	0	5	5	0	1	0	0	0	6	4	21	11	1	0	12
Bidar	41	40	1	0	4	3	0	2	0	0	0	12	20	41	33	1	0	34
Koppal	40	38	2	0	4	4	0	1	0	0	0	7	24	40	25	2	0	27
Bellary (ST)	19	17	2	0	4	3	0	1	0	0	0	6	5	19	10	1	0	11
Haveri	47	41	6	0	4	4	0	2	0	0	0	16	21	47	24	3	0	27
Dharwad	44	41	3	0	5	5	0	1	0	0	0	18	15	44	27	2	0	29
Uttara Kannada	36	32	4	0	3	2	0	0	0	0	0	8	23	36	17	2	0	19
Davanagere	54	43	11	0	7	4	0	1	0	0	0	14	28	54	35	5	0	40
Shimoga	38	33	5	0	2	4	1	1	0	0	0	6	24	38	25	2	0	27
Total	503	450	53	0	56	54	1	18	0	0	1	143	230	503	309	28	0	337